A Letter from A Narcissist

Brutal Honesty under the Influence

Denise Thong
5 min readMay 7, 2023
Source: Pan Jingming, unsplash.com

Dear Denise,

The Ayahuascha is kicking in. I am in the midst of some startling insights. AH, how astonishing. They are like fireworks. They are gorgeous.

Denise, You deserve a front role seat to what is going on in my psyche right now.

Please remember everything I am about to tell you, lest I forget. For such retreats are rare and hard to get to, and you my therapist, ought to play your part. After all, I am paying you a handsome sum.

Never forget that, it is I, and also my referrals that keep your practice going.

Since we’ve already gotten the due diligence out of the way. Let’s get back to the main points — my story.

Let us begin with my childhood, one that I have shared with you in brief snippets. Today, I feel liberated by the Ayahuascha. Perhaps I could risk a bit more information and perhaps even vulnerability, as they say.

I grew up in a huge and opulent mansion left by my grandfather no less. My family finances were much less impressive. Both my parents were gamblers and alcoholics. There were periods of feast and famine but we always lived rich.

I could not adjust my story fast enough to match our current circumstances so I grew…

--

--

Denise Thong

Counsellor, Writer (Christianity, Children’s short stories)