At All Costs

A Short Dialogue

Denise Thong
3 min readSep 19, 2023
Source: Omurden Cengiz, unsplash.com

A Miscarrying Pregnant Mother speaks to a Saint

Mother: Dear Saint, you once told me that one must protect life AT ALL COSTS; And that the need to cherish the sanctity of all life (however small) is weightier than all other commandments.

All other rules are in essence created to uphold the dignity of the human person. I have held on to that principle yet I am in great pain now. My resentment grows.

Saint: Today, if you would allow me, I shall teach you something new. There is one thing that weighs even heavier than human life.

And that thing is God’s will.

Mother: Is it God’s will that the child in my womb perishes?

Saint: God is the creator of all created beings — including you and I. He is creating us moment to moment and that includes your unborn child.

If it is his will, your child shall live. If not, nothing you do can force God’s hand to create.

You struggle. You struggle but all in futility.

Mother: What hurts me most is the callousness of my parents. Now that I am bleeding and asking for help, they refuse to help me. They blatantly tell me that they value their careers and leisure more than the life of my child. They do not care about me or my child. I…

--

--

Denise Thong

Counsellor, Writer (Christianity, Children’s short stories)