God is Working behind the Scenes

Without man ever discovering

Denise Thong
3 min readSep 25, 2020
Source: Bogdan Karlenko, unsplash.com

“What advantage has the worker from his toil? I have considered the task that God has appointed for the sons of men to be busied about. He has made everything appropriate to its time, and has put the timeless into their hearts, without man’s ever discovering, from beginning to end, the work which God has done.” (Ecclesiastes 3:9–11)

Introduction

I am a big fan of Bishop Robert Barron and in some of his lectures, he speaks about the topic of the “ego-drama” versus the “theo-drama”.

The former refers to the plans that we have for ourselves and the latter refers to the plans that God has for us.

Somehow, this topic pops into my head as I meditate on the scripture passage for today.

I suppose that there is always tension between the ego-drama and theo-drama and I suffer from this tension.

Discrepancies within the same person

On days when I am well (physically, mentally and spiritually), I think, feel and act in a certain way. I make decisions and feel proud of these decisions. I am pleased with my ‘wisdom’.

Yet, there are also days when I am not so well. Days when my body is tired, my mind is overstretched and…

--

--

Denise Thong

Counsellor, Writer (Christianity, Children’s short stories)