The Generous Man

The cost of giving yourself away

Denise Thong
4 min readMar 20, 2024
Source: Billy Pasco, unsplash.com

There was once a generous man who wore his heart on his sleeves.

I take that back. He deserves a better description.

He apportioned his soul into tiny parcels and handed them out to whomever he met (that day); to whomever he felt was likeable (for that day).

A desperate bid for connection.

He kept his appearance proper by eating and exercising well. For years, he bent over backwards for many.

With time, he found himself tired and empty.

His name was Samuel.

In a dream… Wise Sage (WS); Samuel (S)

WS: Samuel, wake up.

S: Yes, my Lord.

WS: I have heard your heart’s yearning. You wish to love and be loved.

S: Yes, I do Lord. But my hope is fading and I sense that before long, the despairing part of me will be the end of me.

WS: If you do not want that end, listen carefully to what I have to say.

You have become fragmented. You have a wife, a mistress and a sex-worker.

In your sexual adventures, you cannot give yourself to the woman at hand but rather, you have your trained your brain to feed off the vile…

--

--

Denise Thong

Counsellor, Writer (Christianity, Children’s short stories)